Wyoming Legislation Alert!

Wyoming Legislation Alert!

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 9.59.24 AM

HB0012: MOUNTAIN LION TRAPPING

The Cougar Fund is strongly opposed to HB0012, which has recently been filed in the State Legislature.

 

Photo distributed by reporter Tom Knudsen of a cougar Nevada. Please read his story herehttps://www.instagram.com/p/BAsTyO_SLm8/

Photo distributed by reporter Tom Knudsen of a cougar in Nevada. Please read the story here https://www.instagram.com/p/BAsTyO_SLm8/

Please help us to defeat this Bill, which would allow the trapping and snaring of mountain lions!

 

Simply, locate the representatives for your Voting District in the tables below. Each email address is live so just click on it and you can email them individually; or, copy and paste all of your legislator’s email addresses into the address line of your email.

Please use your own words, and please, please be polite. Just pasting talking points doesn’t let the legislator know the ‘you’ behind the letter. Your voice really matters so be yourself and let them know you oppose HB0012

These talking points will help you to justify your opposition:

  • Traps and Snares are  indiscriminate. Cougars that are caught in these archaic devices may chew off a limb in an effort to escape.
  • Mountain lions, including kittens, or mothers with dependent young, are often disabled by being caught in a trap or snare, even if released. The loss of a tooth or toe means they will be unable to hunt and survive. Many cougars that have been killed or found dead of debilitation or malnutrition have physical evidence of having been trapped.
  • The indiscriminate nature of trapping means that more females, including mothers and kittens, will be killed since their home range is smaller and they do not travel great distances like their male counterparts. Mothers with dependent young are especially vulnerable as they repeatedly hunt and return to their kittens, leaving tracks to show their path.
  • Traps and snares are baited with wild animal scents…this is an attractant to all animals including endangered species such as lynx, threatened species such as grizzly bears, and species of special concern such as wolverines. Ungulates, including mule deer and bighorn sheep have been recorded as incidental take in traps.
  • The Wyoming Game and Fish Department never allow members of the public to trap and snare large game or trophy game animals.
  • Other states such as Montana, Idaho, Minnesota and Maine have been litigated against successfully in cases concerning incidental take of protected animals.
  • The traps could prove dangerous to recreationalists, whether hunters or non-hunters, especially if they are accompanied by children, sporting hounds, or companion animals. Dogs are just as attracted to the scenting as wild animals and will be drawn to the traps to investigate.
  • Inadvertently encountering a large animal already in a trap is a serious public safety issue. If young animals are trapped or snared, their mother will almost certainly be in the area.
  • The Bill has been introduced as a method to increase mule deer numbers. Current best science has repeatedly shown that any improvement in mule deer numbers from extraordinary pressure on cougars is extremely ineffective and unsustainable. Mule deer are threatened by disease and environmental factors such as habitat loss and fragmentation. Reduction in forage quality plays an especially important role in mule deer physical condition, reproductive health and fawn survival.
  • Between 2009 and 2015, 11 mountain lions were unintentionally caught in furbearer traps. During that same period 24 deer (23 mule, 1 white tail) were also caught. Mountain lions and deer occupy the same habitat. Larger traps for dedicated mountain lion mortality will most definitely kill the deer the initiative is mistakenly intending to save.
  • WGFD has invested significant financial resources and dedicated time, energy, research and citizen participation in the Wyoming Mule Deer Initiative. They are starting to see some turnaround in survival and indicators of recovery with the current focused management. Trapping and snaring of cougars is not part of the plan.
  • We NEED cougars and other large carnivores on the landscape – they are positive contributors to biodiversity.
  • Trapping and snaring directly contradicts Wyoming’s Mountain Lion Management Plan, which encourages selectivity and forbids killing of mothers with kittens or spotted independent cougars. HB0012 is blatantly at odds with this requirement.
  • HB0012 says the Wyoming Game and Fish SHALL promulgate regulations for this legislation. That wording is inconsistent with the responsibility for management decisions being with WGFD and indicates inappropriate political influence by the Legislature.

If the tables below do not display properly on your desktop or mobile device, or if you would like to contact your legislators by phone, click  here for a list of Wyoming’s House of Representative members.

WYOMING HOUSE

HOUSE DISTRICT FIRST NAME LAST NAME PARTY EMAIL ADDRESS
HD01 – Crook/Weston Tyler Lindholm Republican Tyler.Lindholm@wyoleg.gov
HD02 – Niobrara/Weston/Goshen Hans Hunt Republican Hans.Hunt@wyoleg.gov
HD03 – Campbell/Convsere Eric Barlow Republican Eric.Barlow@wyoleg.gov
HD04 – Platte/Converse Dan Kirkbride Republican Dan.Kirkbride@wyoleg.gov
HD05 – Goshen Cheri E. Steinmetz Republican Cheri.Steinmetz@wyoleg.gov
HD06 – Converse Richard Cannady Republican Richard.Cannady@wyoleg.gov
HD07 – Laramie Sue Wilson Republican Sue.Wilson@wyoleg.gov
HD08 – Laramie Bob Nicholas Republican Bob.Nicholas@wyoleg.gov
HD09 – Laramie David Zwonitzer Republican David.Zwonitzer@wyoleg.gov
HD10 – Laramie/Goshen John Eklund Republican John.Eklund@wyoleg.gov
HD11 – Laramie Mary Throne Democrat Mary.Throne@wyoleg.gov
HD12 – Laramie Harlan Edmonds Republican Harlan.Edmonds@wyoleg.gov
HD13 – Albany Cathy Connolly Democrat Cathy.Connolly@wyoleg.gov
HD14 – Albany Kermit Brown Republican Kermit.Brown@wyoleg.gov
HD15 – Carbon Donald Burkhart Republican Donald.Burkhart@wyoleg.gov
HD16 – Teton Ruth Ann Petroff Republican Ruth.Petroff@wyoleg.gov
HD17 – Sweetwater JoAnn Dayton Democrat JoAnn.Dayton@wyoleg.gov
HD18 – Lincoln/Sweetwater/Uinta Fred A. Baldwin Republican Fred.Baldwin@wyoleg.gov
HD19 – Uinta Allen Jaggi Republican Allen.Jaggi@wyoleg.gov
HD20 – Sublette Albert Sommers Republican Albert.Sommers@wyoleg.gov
HD21 – Lincoln Robert McKim Republican Robert.McKim@wyoleg.gov
HD22 – Lincoln/Sublette/Teton Marti Halverson Republican Marti.Halverson@wyoleg.gov
HD23 – Teton Andy Schwartz Democrat Andy.Schwartz@wyoleg.gov
HD24 – Park Samuel Krone Republican Samuel.Krone@wyoleg.gov
HD25 – Park Dan Laursen Republican Dan.Laursen@wyoleg.gov
HD26 – Big Horn/Park Elaine Harvey Republican Elaine.Harvey@wyoleg.gov
HD27 – Big Horn/Washakie Mike Greear Republican Mike.Greear@wyoleg.gov
HD28 – Big Horn/Hot Springs/Fremont/Park Nathan Winters Republican Nathan.Winters@wyoleg.gov
HD29 – Sheridan Mark Kinner Republican Mark.Kinner@wyoleg.gov
HD30 – Sheridan Mark Jennings Republican Mark.Jennings@wyoleg.gov
HD31 – Campbell Scott Clem Republican Scott.Clem@wyoleg.gov
HD32 – Campbell Norine Kasperik Republican Norine.Kasperik@wyoleg.gov
HD33 – Fremont Jim Allen Republican Jim.Allen@wyoleg.gov
HD34 – Fremont Rita Campbell Republican Rita.Campbell@wyoleg.gov
HD35 – Natrona Kendell Kroeker Republican Kendell.Kroeker@wyoleg.gov
HD36 – Natrona Gerald Gay Republican Gerald.Gay@wyoleg.gov
HD37 – Natrona Steve Harshman Republican Steve.Harshman@wyoleg.gov
HD38 – Natrona Tom Walters Republican Tom.Walters@wyoleg.gov
HD39 – Sweetwater Stan Blake Democrat Stan.Blake@wyoleg.gov
HD40 – Johnson/Sheridan Michael Madden Republican Mike.Madden@wyoleg.gov
HD41 – Laramie Ken Esquibel Democrat Ken.Esquibel@wyoleg.gov
HD42 – Laramie Jim Blackburn Republican Jim.Blackburn@wyoleg.gov
HD43 – Laramie Dan Zwonitzer Republican Dan.Zwonitzer@wyoleg.gov
HD44 – Laramie James Byrd Democrat James.Byrd@wyoleg.gov
HD45 – Albany Charles F. Pelkey Democrat Charles.Pelkey@wyoleg.gov
HD46 – Albany Glenn Moniz Republican Glenn.Moniz@wyoleg.gov
HD47 – Carbon/Albany/Sweetwater Jerry Paxton Republican Jerry.Paxton@wyoleg.gov
HD48 – Sweetwater Mark Baker Republican Mark.Baker@wyoleg.gov
HD49 – Uinta Garry Piiparinen Republican Garry.Piiparinen@wyoleg.gov
HD50 – Park David Northrup Republican David.Northrup@wyoleg.gov
HD51 – Sheridan Rosie Berger Republican Rosie.Berger@wyoleg.gov
HD52 – Campbell William Pownall Republican Bill.Pownall@wyoleg.gov
HD53 – Campbell Roy Edwards Republican Roy.Edwards@wyoleg.gov
HD54 – Fremont Lloyd Larsen Republican Lloyd.Larsen@wyoleg.gov
HD55 – Fremont David Miller Republican David.Miller@wyoleg.gov
HD56 – Natrona Tim Stubson Republican Tim.Stubson@wyoleg.gov
HD57 – Natrona Thomas Lockhart Republican Tom.Lockhart@wyoleg.gov
HD58 – Natrona Tom Reeder Republican Tom.Reeder@wyoleg.gov
HD59 – Natrona Bunky Loucks Republican Bunky.Loucks@wyoleg.gov
HD60 – Sweetwater John Freeman Democrat John.Freeman@wyoleg.gov